BETTER THAN DISNEY IN AT LEAST THREE WAYS

28 09 2010
 

Gentlemen, here’s a manga (comic book story) from Japan It’s been translated into English. Its title is Ane Doki. It comes from a manga magazine aimed at older boys. It’s a combination of a very touching story, a funny story about a weird relationship, and a sexy story.
 

The drawing is great too:
 
 

I’m betting that once you start reading it you’ll be hooked.
LLLLLLLL
Per Japanese writing convention, the panels on an individual page proceed from right to left.
 
 
Here’s the place to start:

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 12 2012
forgetfuljones

I just finished Ichigo 100% and I was so affected by it that I really don’t dare read ane doki or hatsukoi limited yet.

I found your blog via myanimelist, it appears you haven’t logged in there in a while either. I had logged in to reply to a (very cogent) comment you made about Ichigo, so I’ll just post it here: (myanimelist won’t let me message until 3 days have elapsed.)

Hi, I’ve just recently finished Ichigo for my first time, and I was embarassed by how powerfully it affected me. I’ve been reading manga for a few years now, but honestly I was melancholy for a week afterwards. Despite the fact that like you, I *liked* the ending, and thought that Nishino Tsukasa was the most suitable girl, far and away. I still can’t explain it, my wife has been shaking her head for days. I haven’t read the authors later stories, I’m afraid of what it’ll do this soon after ichigo, frankly.

Your comment in this thread http://myanimelist.net/forum/?topicid=301024 struck such a resonance in me that I created an account just to reply.

As someone else replied to you, it seems a shame that Kawashita Mizuki isn’t permitted to write any more such stories, and is instead drawing (g) edition. It doesn’t appear to have a shred of the caliber Ichigo did.

27 01 2013
nightman1

I thought hard about why it would make you so sad. I cried several times during the story, and copiously at the end. One reason I cried is that I’m an old retired guy, and it’s difficult to read such stories of youth at this time in my life.

But the other, more universal, reason, I think, is that many of us men are very romantic about love even if we might keep that tendency secret from everyone including ourselves; and for the romantic in us — well, he should have had Aya! She was his first love, and the ideal companion of his soul.

I bet this happens all the time. Someone has a very intense love or crush in their teens, and then they get diverted from that attachment to someone else whom they eventually marry. Quite often that someone else is much better suited to be their companion through the struggles of life. Can anyone doubt that Tsukasa is such a person here? As you said, she’s unselfish and always-supportive. In addition she’s practical, realistic, and emotionally strong, and she’s smart. The fact that she’s beautiful ties up the package.

My readings on Japan suggests that it’s a “career-mad” society, much more even than the USA. Evidence from manga has shown me that again and again, and so does a good book I’m now reading called “The Japanese Mind”. Such shifts of choice of mates from the romantic choice to the practical choice when one is about to go out into the world must be extra-common there. So “Ichigo 100%” is the perfect, representative story of growing up and finding a wife – for that society.

But I bet many a man there, just like some of us readers, remembers his first sweet love all his life, with sadness.

Leave a Reply

