HOW DO THEY DO THAT $?$

2 08 2008

I come from a poor family, so much of the doings of the business world are a mystery to me–high finance especially. You too? Maybe your background, or even just a lack of time, leaves you painfully aware that you just don’t know the score on this.

For me the doings of financiers or even just modest stock investors continued to be a completely closed book until I came into a little money in the 1980s. Something had to be done with it, and so I at last became unable to bear my vast ignorance in the economic area any more.

I studied basic economics on my own for a year (having not taken any courses on it in college), invested my little windfall in the stock market, and went on to study investing regularly for another two years. I read several books on the subject, and followed the markets religiously for two years via Barron’s and other publications.

I became proud of my increasing financial sophistication.

Then one day (It happened to be the day after the famous “Black Monday” of October 19, 1987, when the Dow Jones Industrials plunged 508 points in a single day.) I woke up to the sound of a lot of my gelt clanking as it walked out the door.

“My poor friend”, I said, after I’d mourned my dollars’ departure, “you’re like a pygmy trying to learn auto mechanics. Daddy never told stories about wheeling and dealing at the dinner table, nor mommy either. You lack the gift our parents give us as babes when they routinely model being successful at something for us. Pack it in buddy!”

So I did, until now.

Now I’ve found a website where someone brought up rich, or close to it, and who worked as a financier over the last two decades, tells her story. There’s lots to learn from Mrs. Catherine Austin Fitts, here:

Dillon, Read and Company Inc. and the Aristocracy of Stock Profits

I wonder if you’ll find her world as strange and intriguing as I did.


Actions

Information

8 responses

2 08 2008
Allen Taylor

Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

Allen Taylor

2 08 2008
Susan Kishner

Hello. I was reading someone elses blog and saw you on their blogroll. Would you be interested in exchanging blog roll links? If so, feel free to email me.

Thanks.

2 08 2008
HOW DO THEY DO THAT $?$ · Stocks.ExplainedOnline.Net

[…] Original post by nightman1 […]

2 08 2008
Pakistani ISI

Anyone can do any amount of work provided it isn’t the work he’s supposed to be doing at the moment.RobertBenchleyRobert Benchley

3 08 2008
Anika Suggestions

WOW, great post! Anika Suggestions

3 08 2008
Lisbon Treaty

May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your house.GeorgeCarlinGeorge Carlin

4 08 2008
Police State

The essence of war is violence. Moderation in war is imbecility.JohnArbuthnotFisherJohn Arbuthnot Fisher

5 08 2008
Free Speech

It’s a rough temptation, but a common invitation … So take my advice, that’s jail bait.AndreWilliamsAndre Williams

Leave a Reply

